Salamander Springs Pt I

bedroom2You know, alot can happen in 5 days.  Here’s what I’ve been doing.  My fiance broke up with me and called off the wedding, my sister has been put in the hospital on life support and I went to Salamander Springs.

I suppose the first one is redundant…I mean if you break if off with your fiance, then of course the wedding is off.  All I know about Kaye (my sister) is just what I told you.  Salamander Springs?

That’s something I can talk a little about.

When Elizabeth told me to take a hike, my mind immediately…well, as immediately as a 50 something old mind can…flashed back to some of the old movies I’d seen as a kid.  You know the ones where the hero loses his girlfriend and goes off to join the French Foreign Legion, fight pirates, die a heroic death all the while making sure that the girl he left behind got all the newsclippings so she could kick her self for lettting him go?

Well, that’s EXACTLY what I did…sorta.

No French Foreign Legion close by.  No pirates either.  But Salamander Springs…YESSS….  Salamander Springs is a 30 acre nestled among the rolling hills of middle Georgia.  Well, that isn’t true ether.  It’s 30 acres, but it’s plopped down in some of the densest forest you’ve ever seen in your life.  It’s a triple canopy of trees and that means that even at high noon it’s pretty damn dark in those woods.

Guess you already figure out how it got it’s name…Salamander Springs.  Well, there is a spring there and I think I saw a salamander…so let’s be generous and allow them to call it as they want.

Salamander Springs is what is called “off the grid”.  That’s a fancy, 21st century way of saying they don’t have electricity.  They also don’t have plumbing…or refridgerators…or screens on the windows…or a kitchen…or, well, don’t have much else for that matter.  But that’s ok.

Salamander Springs is an attraction for WWOOFERS.  I’m not gonna explain that one…be resourceful and look it up.  Needless to say, I’m not a WWOOFER.  But I did get 5 days to rest, reflect, contemplate, play in the dirt and look at my life and how I’ve messed it up.

And for that I’ll be eternally grateful to the folks at Salamander Springs.

NOTE:  The picture of the old break truck?  That was my accomodations while I was there at Salamander Springs

4 thoughts on “Salamander Springs Pt I

  1. It’s so good to know that I can google Salamander Springs and find something out there about this beautiful amazing place! I’ve been there a few times (only for the parties, not the work :-)….Yes, one day I will get my hands dirty and do the work!

    I’m sorry to hear about the losses in your life, but I strongly believe that everything in life happens for a reason. All of our experiences can be seen as lessons to make us stronger, wiser, and ultimately to realize our interconnectedness with all beings.

    Love and hugs to you,

    Erica Saffron

  2. ….and even better to google Salamander Springs and find that Erica, your friend,
    has commented on this blog….

    I am glad that you found peace at Salamander Springs, Jerry.

    It is true that the Salamander’s in the Sistren, inspired the naming…but it was also
    the Black Crow…

    To find out more, e-mail me!

    Four Winds,
    Crazy Spider
    Wolverine Survivor Clan

  3. Magnificent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff prior to and you’re just too fantastic. I really like what you have obtained right here, certainly like what you’re stating and the best way wherein you assert it. You make it entertaining and you continue to care for to keep it wise. I cant wait to read much more from you. That is really a wonderful website.

Leave a Reply

