Decatur to Conyers

Rick -- a fellow cyclist

Nice easy ride today.  Great weather for biking and since Stephen and Stacey worked their magic on the bike, she was running great.  No “knee burners” today either…just nice rolley coastey type terrain.  And if you don’t know what “rolley coastey” is, you’re not a cyclist.

Got to the monastery with no problem.  Rolled on up and parked it infront of the visitor’s center.  As I was walking towards the gift shop to see if I could get some help finding Father James, a guy came up to me and said he wanted to see the bike.  Seems like he was getting ready to do a cross country run himself.  We introduced ourselves and while he walked me over to the Retreat House he told me a little of his job there.  As I write this, I can’t remember what his official title was, but basically he’s responsible for wildlife (including the trees and such) on the 2500 acres of the monastery.

Even though lunch was over, they still fixed me a great meal and I enjoyed setting in the dining room and relaxing again being back here.

Go to put the tent up again next to the pond on the grounds, but ssshhhh…don’t tell anyone.  They’re not set up for campers and they don’t want it to become known that I did it…so keep it just between us.

Got to wander around some and get some shots of the grounds and buildings and then it was time to hit the sack.

Leave a Reply

