She’s Living Rent Free in My Head

Met a lady a few weeks ago. Guess I’m a softie for pretty green eyes and a cute crooked smile.

I was sitting on a bench in Pritchard Park thinking about the next shoot I had coming up when she walked over and began to talk.

Before you knew it, we were hanging out together quite a bit. Hikes up on the Blue Ridge Parkway. Strolls through the galleries in town. You know, things like that.

Then I come to find out she’s homeless, been sleeping in her car it seems since she broke up with her boyfriend.

I tried to find her somewhere to live so that she could get out of that old green Volvo. She didn’t like any of the options that I could come up with. The mission wasn’t enough of one thing and the Salvation Army was too much of something else. Offered to hook her up with a female friend of mine out in east Asheville, but there was something wrong with that idea. Don’t ask me what, I don’t remember exactly.

Anyways, we kept spending more and more time together and I thought I was getting to know her pretty well. I even seriously considered letting her move into the extra bedroom in my place – just as friends – she needed somewhere safe and dry to sleep. Guess you never do really get to know someone though.

Come to find out that when she wasn’t sleeping in her car, she was spending the night with friends – male friends. Yah, I know this is 2010 and maybe I’m old fashioned, but there’s just something about this picture that doesn’t look quite right.

The other day she ran out of gas and didn’t have any money to put some motion lotion in it. So last night I took her out to dinner, slipped her a few dollars so she could get a some groceries and I put $20 in her gas tank. It was a great evening for a spell. We even talked about taking a stroll up one of the trails on the Blue Ridge Parkway. Then she got a phone call and all of a sudden wasn’t feeling very well. I’m sure you get the idea.

Haven’t seen her since I left her in the parking lot at Staples.

So now I’m sitting here at my favorite table in Firestorm. Sipping a cup of coffee. Thinking about those pretty green eyes and cute crooked smile. And she’s living rent free in my head.

2 thoughts on “She’s Living Rent Free in My Head

  1. An perfect share, I turned over your link to a co worker who was doing a bit analysis on this topic. And he bought me breakfast because I found it for him.. smiling. So let me reword that : Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to talk about this, I feel strongly about it and enjoy reading more on this topic. If possible, would you mind updating your blog with more details? It is highly helpful for me. Big thumb up for this blog post!.

  2. Thanks for the kind words and for being a reader! I’ll be glad to do an “update”, but what sort of update are you looking for?

Leave a Reply

