Nothing in all the world is more dangerous than sincere ignorance and conscientious stupidity.   ~~ Martin Luther King Jr.

I kinda like that quote by Martin.  Seems to sum up nicely and tactfully one of my favorite sayings — “I Can’t Stand Stupid”.

Now before you go getting your knickers in a wad and say I’m being judgemental and all that other non-politically-correct-crap, let me say two things.

Judgemental?  No…just observant.

Non-politically-correct?  Well, duh!

I met a guy several weeks ago.  During the course of about a ten minute conversation he revealed his stupidity in 3 things.

#1  He thought your tastebuds were in your teeth.
#2  He thought you had to wait until the onions in your garden had gone to seed before you harvest them, and
#3  He thought the onions were garlic.

Now, you might wonder why I say these three things make him stupid.  Well, by itself it doesn’t — you’re right.  What makes him stupid is the fact that he held himself out as an “authority” on these three things.  How did he do this?  By using an attitude in his voice that said without saying, “I know what I’m talking about”…and being adamant that he knew he was right.

If he had’ve said something like, “Do you know when to harvest onions?”  Then I would’ve said he was ignorant.  And ignorance can be cured by asking questions and listening to the answer.  You see, the difference between ignorance and stupidity is that ignorance has it’s limits.

And this ol’ boy that just knew his taste buds were in his teeth isn’t alone.  That’s the sad thing.  We’ve got a nation full of people who insist on being stupid.  Click here to see some video’s of certified stupid people.

My mom always told me there are no such things as stupid questions.  During my 50 some evolutions around the sun, I’ve found out she’s half right.  There are no stupid questions; just stupid people walking around asking questions.

Now, what did I do with my coffee?

Leave a Reply

