Chest Pains, Doctors and Good Friends

Well, I’m home now.  It’s been an eventful three days, but I’m home.

Wednesday I went to Durham with a friend who had to have a little followup visit at the VA Medical Center in Durham, NC.  I went along to drive and to keep her company.  I’m sweet like that.

On the way over, I started to have some chest pains.  Nothing much.  I’ve had ’em before and they usually go away fairly quickly.

Not this time.

The further down the road we got, the more it hurt.  By the time we rolled into the parking deck at the Medical Center, I was almost hoping I’d die and praying I wouldn’t…it was hurting that bad.

I told her I was going to go get checked out in the ER while she went to the clinic for her checkup.

To make a long story short, they admitted me.  My friend finished up with her doctor’s appointment and headed on back to Asheville. 

Lotsa blood work and a stress test later, they didn’t find anything really significant going on.  They did find some “stuff” that concerned them, but they couldn’t tell if it was from the same episode that caused the pain or maybe something that had happened months ago.

After more blood work and and some discussions with the doc, I was discharged last night and headed home.

So thanks everyone for the prayers, thoughts and energies you sent my way.  It’s comforting to know that when the chips are down, I’ve got friends around that will keep me lifted up.

So looks like this ol’ boy will be around for a season longer.  If there’s ever anything I can be doing for you, well, please let me know.

Right now I have to go get my first taste of civilian coffee that I’ve had in almost three days.

Leave a Reply

