Why Ask Why?

Asheville Symphony

Ever run into someone that is extremely curious?  I don’t mean they’re curious in the sense that they spend alot of time on Wikipedia learning things.  I mean the folks that are constantly asking, “Why”

I’ve run into a couple people like that over the years — and they always frustrate me.  It’s not their fault though.

You see, I’m not an analytical, detailed kind of guy.  I’m more of a broad brush type of person.  I don’t ask why things happen or why people do the things they do.  I just kinda go with the flow and trust that the Creator has it all worked out in the end.

Life is alot less stressful like that.

But speaking of the why questions, here’s a short list to pass on to the next person that keeps asking you “why”.

Why do we park on a driveway and drive on a parkway?
Why does snowfall and rain drops?
Why isn’t phonetic spelled the way it sounds?
Why are there interstate highways in Hawaii?
Why are there flotation devices under plane seats instead of parachutes?
Why are cigarettes sold in gas stations when smoking is prohibited there?
Why do fat chance and slim chance mean the same thing?

Oh well, I wonder why my coffee cup is almost empty.

Leave a Reply

