The Boy is Back in Town

I saw them before they saw me.  Four of the roughest, meanest, toughest looking homeless dudes that Asheville has to offer.  They were walking down Patton Street – just about in front of Tupelo Honey.  I was on the other side of the street – right in front of Jerusalem Café.

They spotted me – grinned and shouted – “Hey Jerry!  Jerry’s back!  How ya doin’ Jerry?”

I grinned, waved and waited for them to cross the street.

Yah, I’m back.  And it’s good to be back.  Like my ol’ man always said, “It’s good to get away, but it’s gooder to get back home”.

I missed Asheville.  I missed the street.  I missed the energy.  I missed the day-to-day stuff that goes on here.  Now don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed being away for a couple weeks too.  And I’m especially and eternally grateful to my friend who made it all happen.

The Outer Banks was nice.  It was relaxing.  The break gave me time to reflect and time to think.  Reflect on what all has happened this past year and to think about what all can happen over the next year.

I had the chance each morning to watch the sunrise over the ocean and set each night over Albemarle Sound.  And in between there were walks on the beach to be taken, lighthouses to be explored, wild horses to be sought out and of course, the gig @ Roanoke Island to shoot.  There was definitely plenty of beer commercial moments – you know the ones – “It doesn’t get any better than this”.

So now it’s time to get back in the saddle and make more things happen.  Life in the street continues – people are still homeless and trying to keep warm there.  Life in the BB&T building still goes on – there’s folks there I’ve got to catch up with today.  And there’s my favorite table at Firestorm Café and Books that’s setting there waiting on me to show up.

Yah, I’m back in town – and life is good.

Leave a Reply

