God Keeps Me Humble

So I’m at Grove Park Inn shooting “The Business”.  It’s a band that my buddy Jim started and he’s the lead singer and manager.  Jim was real helpful in helping me to get re-started here in western North Carolina when I moved here.  Whenever I get a free evening to go shoot them I do and give them the shots to use as promo material.  Trying to repay the favor.

In one corner of the massive stone lobby, there’s a group of young ladies laughing and having a good time.  Believe it or not, I’m not paying them any attention…just trying to get some good shots to give to my buddy Jim.

During a break in the music, I’m standing off to the side trying to figure out the next best angle to shoot from.  I feel someone tap me on the shoulder and it’s one of the ladies you see in the picture.  The conversation goes something like this:

Mysterious Young Lady:  “Hi, this may sound weird, but aren’t you Jerry Nelson?”
Me: “Yes, ma’am.  I am.”

Mysterious Young Lady: “We thought you were.  Could we get your autograph?”

Well, what could I say?  I blushed slightly, nodded and walked over with her to meet her friends.  The bride, Elizabeth, asked me if she could give me a kiss on the cheek.  How could I refuse.  I chatted with them a few minutes and found out that they were from Atlanta.  They had come to the Grove Park Inn for a Bachelorette and, like me, were enjoying the music of “The Business”.

I’m not sure how they knew who I was or just why they wanted my autograph.  I just let my ego enjoy the moment and then took a shot of them.

The next morning on my way to Firestorm Cafe and Books, I stopped by BB&T bank to cash a little check I had on me.  It’s a bank I’ve been using for the almost two years I’ve been here in town and the ladies behind the counter know me by now.

The conversation went something like this:

Bank Teller:  “Well good morning Jerry.  How are you doing today?”
Me:  “Doing OK.  Just hanging out relaxing some before I head out to Nashville.”

Bank Teller:  “I don’t blame you.  You sure keep busy.  What can I do for you today?”
Me:  “I just need to get this cashed then I’ll get out of your way.”

I signed the back of the check, slide it to her and smiled to myself realizing how God likes to keep me humble as she said to me,

“Sure, no problem.  I’ll be glad to Jerry.  Can I see some ID?”

Jerry Nelson is a freelance photojournalist living in Asheville, North Carolina. He has traveled the world documenting the tears, joys, laughter and lives of people everywhere. He currently focuses his camera on the same topics in America. His work has appeared in such diverse publications as USAToday, CNN, Upsurge, Dream Row and others. A portion of his income from each photo shoot is donated to organizations that help the homeless in the communities in which he works. You can see more of his photography by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

