10 Reasons Not to Get a “Real Job”

I like The Three Stooges.  I forget the movies name, but one of the scenes I liked the most is the scene where Moe tells Curly to get a job, and Curly recoils and says, “No, please… not that!  Anything but that!”

I’ve got a friend who likes to try to get under my skin.  She says things like, “When are you going to get a real job” or “When are you going to go to work like the rest of us”.  When she says this, I just shrug and try to point out to her that I do work, I just don’t work in a cubicle farm where I sell my soul to “the man”.  Actually, most freelancers work longer and harder than people who work 9 to 5 jobs.  The trade off is that we have the freedom to chart our own path through life.

It’s kinda funny how people reach a certain age and they think it’s time to go out and “get a job”.  But, like many things that the majority does, just because “everyone” does it, it doesn’t mean it’s a good idea.  Actually, if you’re reasonably intelligent with a decent level of self-motivation, then “getting a job” is one of the worst things you can do to support yourself.  There’s lots of better ways of making a living than selling yourself into corporate (or government) slavery.

Over the next several days, I’m going to share with you some of the reasons you should do everything within your power to avoid getting a job.  Now, before you fly off the handle, I am NOT suggesting that you plan on living on government entitlements.  Nope.  Just pointing out that, again, if you’re reasonably intelligent and have a decent level of self-motivation, then you’re much better off working for yourself than bartering away a third of your life.

Be warned though: If you’re currently a well-conditioned, well-behaved employee, your most likely reaction to what I will say will more than likely be defensiveness.  It’s all part of the conditioning.  But consider that if this doesn’t have a grain of truth to it, you wouldn’t have an emotional reaction at all.

Jerry Nelson is a freelance photojournalist living in Asheville, North Carolina. He has traveled the world documenting the tears, joys, laughter and lives of people everywhere. He currently focuses his camera on the same topics in America. His work has appeared in such diverse publications as USAToday, CNN, Upsurge, Dream Row and others. A portion of his income from each photo shoot is donated to organizations that help the homeless in the communities in which he works. You can see more of his photography by clicking here.

One thought on “10 Reasons Not to Get a “Real Job”

  1. The reason not to get a “real” job is because you can’t always do it YOUR WAY!

    In the world there are times when we need to take a little less money for the freedom of our souls. To give to others what they need more than you do at the moment.

    I was criticized by all of my employees for being to generous with my time or money. They were mostly looking out for my best interest but I regret nothing that I gave away freely.

    An employer stops you from giving things away. I understand the pressure of keeping the overhead paid. But I found consistently in my career that what goes out comes back. Greed never works and payback is tough.

    Create a life and a job for yourself. It’s what makes your soul sing.

Leave a Reply

