Kick in the Gut — Part Deux

A few days ago I wrote a blog about a friend of mine that had been picked up on a Federal Fugitive Warrant.  I got a kick in the gut.  You can read that blog by clicking here.

Yesterday I learned more about my friend.

In 2000, he was arrested and held on $5 MILLION cash bail.  At the time of his arrest, he was called the “most dangerous criminal” in the state where he lived.  It’s estimated that during the two years prior to his 2000 arrest, he was making $25,000.00 a week! And by the way, according to the old newspaper clipping I was sent, his lawyer did NOT dispute the amount of money my friend was making.

Just for the record, he’s still my friend.  If he were to contact me today and ask me to do something for him, I would.  As long as it wasn’t illegal, immoral or unethical…I’d be there for him.

That’s just what friends do.

Jerry Nelson is a freelance photojournalist living in Asheville, North Carolina. He has traveled the world documenting the tears, joys, laughter and lives of people everywhere. He currently focuses his camera on the same topics in America. His work has appeared in such diverse publications as USAToday, CNN, Upsurge, Dream Row and others. A portion of his income from each photo shoot is donated to organizations that help the homeless in the communities in which he works. You can see more of his photography by clicking here.

Leave a comment