A Rose in The Cornfield Is a Weed

A rose in a cornfield is a weed…

I kinda like that.  I’m not sure where I first heard it, but I remember where I last heard it.  Somewhere in the Deep South when I was helping a guy prune the grapevines he had on his property.  He and I would go out each morning for a few hours before the sun came up and prune the grapevines and talk.  He was full of wisdom and he freely shared it.

One day we got to talking about how some things in life can be a blessing and a curse.  One day something happens and it’s a blessing.  The next day, the same thing happens and it’s a curse.  The event didn’t change, but the meaning we choose to put on the event changes – and takes it from a blessing to a curse, or the other way around.

I was busy pondering this while I snipped off some of the smaller runners on the vine and he said, “Jerry remember this.  A rose in a cornfield is a weed”.

Got a call today from a friend of mine.  She wanted to know what I was up to.  I told her I had just gotten a call from the Grove Park Inn and I had to upload some – about 200 – shots to them so they could pick some they wanted to buy for a new brochure they’re putting out.

She apologized for bothering me and said she didn’t want to be a distraction and started to hang up.  She wasn’t fast enough though and before she get hit the “end” button on her cell phone, I told her it wasn’t a distraction at all.  I’d appreciate the chance to get away from the chaos for a season.

Seems like my day is full of distractions.  I’ve been blessed since I’ve been here in Asheville.  It’s impossible these days to get a full hour of interrupted work done.  Someone is always stopping by my favorite table in Firestorm to chat for a minute.  Or stopping me on the street to compliment me on the latest photo they’ve just seen.  Sometimes I can’t get my work done because people want to talk about, well, my work.

Now I don’t mean to sound like I’m complaining…honestly I don’t.  I appreciate the attention and I love that what I do seems to affect (in a positive way) so many people.  I don’t want to be rude to anyone that just wants “two minutes” of my time – but by the time 30 people have gotten two minutes, there’s an hour gone.  And usually it ends up being a lot longer than two minutes.

So, as I set here on the back porch with a cup of coffee and a cigarette close by, I’m using the WiFi of a friend to upload the shots to Grove Park Inn enjoying the “distraction”.

Jerry Nelson is a freelance photojournalist living in Asheville, North Carolina. He has traveled the world documenting the tears, joys, laughter and lives of people everywhere. He currently focuses his camera on the same topics in America. His work has appeared in such diverse publications as USAToday, CNN, Upsurge, Dream Row and others. A portion of his income from each photo shoot is donated to organizations that help the homeless in the communities in which he works. You can see more of his photography by clicking here.

One thought on “A Rose in The Cornfield Is a Weed

Leave a Reply

