Woodlawn Baptist in Waynesville is a Creepy Place

What a creepy place Woodlawn Baptist Church in Waynesville is.

 

It was about 6:30pm on a Sunday evening a few years ago when I passed through North Carolina on one of my “walk-a-bouts”.  I had just spent Friday and Saturday hanging out with some bikers at a camp outside of Murphy NC.  There were about a hundred bikers there from all over the country.  Some great socializing.  But Sunday morning, it was time to get back on the road.

 

So I hoisted my backpack onto my shoulders and started walking.

 

Along about 3pm that day (after getting brief ride or two), I found a place to pitch the tent for the night.  I crawled in and fell asleep.

 

Waking up a little later, I figured I’d check out the town and maybe make a Sunday evening service if I could find one.

 

A cop pulled over as I was walking down the side of the road and after asking the usual questions, he and I got to chatting.  He asked about the trip, we chatted about Sweetwater Texas (his hometown and somewhere I had passed through watching the oil wells).  Before he pulled off, I asked him where in town I could go to church that night.  He pointed me to Woodlawn Baptist Church.

 

Well, I found the turn off for it and hiked a bit over two miles to get to it.  They’ve since moved to a spot right on the highway, but at the time it was way off the road.

 

I got there about 6:30pm.  Yah, I was dirty and smelly.

 

You know what?

 

Not a single person spoke to me as they filed in for services that evening – not one!

 

Yep.  Woodlawn Baptist Church in Waynesville is a creepy place.  I wonder if they forgot that Jesus was homeless too?

Jerry Nelson is a freelance photojournalist living in Asheville, North Carolina. He has traveled the world documenting the tears, joys, laughter and lives of people everywhere. He currently focuses his camera on the same topics in America. His work has appeared in such diverse publications as USAToday, CNN, Upsurge, Dream Row and others. A portion of his income from each photo shoot is donated to organizations that help the homeless in the communities in which he works. You can see more of his photography by clicking here.
 

Leave a Reply

