What Do You Want to do Before You Die?

Along my travels I’ve noticed that everyone has at least one thing that they’ve always wanted to achieve, but sadly not all of us have the perspective to actualize it. The beauty is that everyone’s list is different. This is what I’m trying to do now, help others address this.

As people we create self-imposed boundaries that limit what we do in life. Whether its money, commitments, time or fear, we all convince ourselves that things are too hard to achieve. This though is untrue, they are just excuses. Look at me for example; all I have is a positive attitude; I have no money, no sponsors and no favors owed, instead I just believe that I can do anything I put my mind to. As a result I’m able to overcome these hurdles and achieve items from my list. I just have to believe.

Some people suggest that I’m lucky where as others claim that I’m brave but neither of these things is true; the only thing that separates me from many at the moment is a mind-set. When my wife filed for divorce some years ago, I took a step back from my reality and thought about what was important in my life. This moment changed my life and allowed me something that I see as crucial to all of us; perspective. With this you can do anything.

This is what I talk about when I address a room of people at a conference and this is the main theme of my book which Random House have recently asked me to write about my journeys. Who’d of thought!?

One thing I’ve seen is that we can all achieve whatever it is that we want in life, we just need to identify what that is. I’m not going to claim that this article alone will do that for you, but I will finish by asking you one simple question that really did change my life; if you were going to die tomorrow, would you be happy?

We all have the opportunity to answer yes.

What’s on your list?”

Photos by Jerry Nelson, JourneyAmerica.org

3 thoughts on “What Do You Want to do Before You Die?

  1. Pingback: What Do You Want to do Before You Die? « Blog Archive « JourneyAmerica | Blair Mountain March

  2. i would like to disappear for a couple of days to renew my soul and not have anyone question how, what, where, or why. disappearing is not the obstacle, its the returning.

Leave a Reply

