OccupyDC — As I See It. Garbage and The Bank of America

Yesterday I’m standing in McPherson Square, site of the OccupyDC movement. Off to one side I notice a crowd gathering and wander over to see what’s going on.

Several occupiers are planning a simultaneous action against several banks in the area. They will be wearing masks and carrying garbage into the lobbys of the banks.

I figure I’d follow them.

We went to the Bank of America on Pennsylvania directly across from The White House. As the two protestors dumped their garbage on the marble floor they shouted, “You’ve been dumping garbage on Americans for a long time…now here’s our chance to dump garbage on you”. Not very catchy, but it got the message across…I think.

Before the first bag was emptied and as the second protestor dumped his, the cops came swarming. Within 60 seconds there were 20 cops inside the bank and the big metal doors had slid shut behind us.

Two of the cops came up to me and told me that “management” wanted me to leave. I wasn’t about to argue with them…I figured it was more important to get the photos out to the public than for me to spend a night in jail. So I kept shooting as I backed out.

End of story? The cops kept the two protestors inside the bank for about a half hour before releasing them…without charging them. Just told them that if they came back in within a year, they’d be arrested for trespassing.

Jerry Nelson is a nationally recognized photojournalist. His work has appeared in many national, regional and local publications including CNN, USAToday, Upsurge, Earthwalkers and Associated Content. Nelson travels the country seeking out the people, places and things that make America unique and great. Nelson currently is in Washington D.C. pointing his camera at OccupyDC and freelancing for The Washington Times the second largest paper in the nation’s capital.

CLICK HERE to see more of Nelson’s work or to hire him for a shoot.

Leave a Reply

