OccupyDC — As I See It. Occupy The Franklin School

UPDATE: On Tuesday, November 22, the following was reported by The Washington Examiner:
D.C. leaders’ support of Occupy DC is eroding after protesters broke into a city-owned building over the weekend, but city leaders stopped short of condemning the movement.

Read more at the Washington Examiner: Click here

Banner unfurled over The Franklin School

Yesterday about a dozen protestors took over – or Occupied – The Franklin School at the corner of 13 and K Street. Why that building?

The Franklin School has a lot of history behind it. One

Cops were out in force during the takeover of The Franklin School

of the more interesting things is that it was the site of Alexander Graham Bell’s experiment of using light waves to transfer voice – the groundwork of our present-day fiber optics.

While it presently sets empty, it’s had several incarnations during its lifetime. Most recently (2002) it was opened and used as a shelter for the homeless in the nation’s capital. That was shuttered in September 2008 and ever since – it has sat empty. Hence, the purpose for occupying it.

The Franklin School was being looked at by a developer to turn into an upscale hotel. The city wanted to sell it. Just one problem – the homeless were in the way, so the shelter that served this population lost their funding and was closed.

The city’s deal with the developer fell apart and the two sides – the city and the real estate mogul-wannabe – walked away from the deal.

Protestors outside The Franklin School waiting word on resolution of the occupation

So for three years the building has sat empty and the homeless have been back on the streets.

Just another example of corporate greed and government bureaucracy run amuck resulting in lousy treatment for the 99%.<br><br>

Jerry Nelson is a nationally recognized photojournalist. His work has appeared in many national, regional and local publications including CNN, USAToday, Upsurge, Earthwalkers and Associated Content. Nelson travels the country seeking out the people, places and things that make America unique and great. Nelson currently is in Washington D.C. pointing his camera at OccupyDC and freelancing for The Washington Times the second largest paper in the nation’s capital.

CLICK HERE to see more of Nelson’s work or to hire him for a shoot.

Artist’s Statement
I see it. I shoot it. I live it. Join the adventure!

For my seventh birthday, I was given a Press Kit that included a red plastic camera. I used that camera so much that it finally crumbled to dust in the Virginia soil and went to Kodak heaven.

When my journey took me into the Navy, I shot the tears and smiles of servicemen and women from the South China Sea to The Indian Ocean and practically every body of water and continent and country in between.

After divorce jerked me from the more mundane predictabilities of life, I travelled through 31 states in 36 months by bicycle and by foot with camera in hand. I photographed the country from the Rockies to the Badlands to the Grand Canyon to New England to Dixie. I kept shooting after a car crumbled my bike in Tennesee, after breaking my wrist in Kentucky, after nearly drowning in Missouri and after a surgeon’s scalpel in Georgia cut me to the heart. It’s the joys and the sorrows of life that make pictures really come alive.

My gallery at http://www.JourneyAmerica.org has been acclaimed as one of the most colorful photographic journals online. I continue to make myself available for photo shoots and special projects everywhere. My rates are reasonable and my work is unsurpassed – satisfaction guaranteed.

Call the camera my therapy. Call it my art. Call it my ticket to events and situations I’d otherwise never see. I love the camera because it allows me to see the world as I wish everyone could see it. Beautiful, merciful, colorful, enigmatic, alive.

Leave a Reply

