Open Letter to Congressman Darrell Issa — Please read and pass it on!

Darrell —

I’ve stood up for you.  I’ve told my friends that you were not a candy-ass, yuppie and that you would man up and talk with me face-to-face about some issues that concern both of us.

We need to have a come-to-Jesus meeting about this situation that you’ve created regarding the presence of OccupyDC in McPherson Square.

Please forgive the impersonal nature of having to address some issues with you through email. I went to your office on Capitol Hill to invite you down to Starbucks for a cup of coffee so we could discuss this man-to-man, but your Chief of Staff told me you were out of the office.

We have several issues to hash out.

Money. You’ve kind of misled folks about the money that was spent refurbishing McPherson Square. You’ve correctly stated that $400,000.00 in stimulus money was spent in the summer of 2011 to get the park looking pretty and do some upgrades on infrastructure. What you’ve forgotten to tell people is that only $8,000.00 was for grass and sod. And it’s my understanding that the grass and sod are the only things you mention that have been destroyed. Tell ya what Darrell – I’ll ask each of my 5000 friends on Facebook to send you five quarters. That’ll put $6,250.00 back. I’m sure with the $450 MILLION dollars that you have, you can surely help out with the other $1750.00. Hell, just dig around the cushions in your sofa, I’m sure you can find it there.

Rats. Buddy, I’ve been coming to Washington DC regularly since I was about six years old. I’d come up here with my parents about twice a year to see Aunt Mary and Uncle Richard. There’s not too many parts of the district that I haven’t seen. And I tell you what – there’s rats all over Washington DC. Just take a stroll through any part of the town after dark and you’ll see the little four legged creatures scurrying around. If you didn’t realize it, there were rats in the park before OccupyDC came to town, how come you didn’t express concern then. And talking about rats, we had tons of ‘em in a little place in southeast Asia called Vietnam. I never heard you speak out once about the disease that they were brining there. Is that because your buddies were becoming rich selling arms and munitions to the military and you wanted to keep that “occupation” going as long as you could?

Darrell, everyone in D.C. knows that you’re the wealthiest person in Congress. Let’s talk about your $450 million. Could you explain to me the mysterious warehouse fire that happened at your company back in 1982. Remember that one of your employees, Joey Adkins, told insurance investigators that prior to the blaze he had seen you removing the company’s computers as well as all the computer hardware, software AND the diskettes that contained all the company’s customer records and financial information?

Joey also told the investigators that the silkscreens that were used in the production of the circuit boards had also been placed in a fireproof box – something that had never been done previously. This apparently got the investigators curious because they determined that a short time before the fire, you had more than quadrupled the company’s fire insurance coverage. Maybe your memory is short, so you can re-read all about it in the January 20, 2011 issue of The New Yorker. A fellow named Ryan Lizza talks about all this in an article called “Don’t Look Back”.

So Darrell, get back to me and let me know when we can get together for that cup of coffee. I can give you 300 million reasons why OccupyDC needs to be allowed to stay. You can’t give me one good reason why it has to leave.

Darrell, don’t make a liar out of me.  Don’t let my friends be right when they say you’re a candy-ass yuppie.  Let’s get together this week down at the Starbucks on Vermont Street.

I’ll leave the lights on for you.

Yours truly

Jerry Nelson
704-914-5424
Jerry@JourneyAmerica.org

Jerry Nelson is a nationally recognized photojournalist and adventure photographer. His work has appeared in many national, regional and local publications including CNN, USAToday, Upsurge, Earthwalkers and Associated Content and he is a regular contributor to Huffington Post as well as OpEdNews. Nelson travels the country seeking out the people, places and things that make America unique and great. Nelson currently is in Washington D.C. pointing his camera at OccupyDC and freelancing for The Washington Times the second largest paper in the nation’s capital.

CLICK HERE to see more of Nelson’s work or to hire him for a shoot.

Leave a Reply

