I almost meet Jared Lee Loughner

Jared Lee Loughner

What’s the closest you’ve ever been to creepy?  This morning I was fifteen feet away from the personification of creepy malevolent all wrapped up on one person; Jared Lee Loughner

I went to court this morning.  No, it wasn’t for me.  I came to Tucson to speak with a source that has some stories about illegal immigrants.  Since he couldn’t meet with me for several  hours I headed to the court house where Loughner was to appear.  After the security guards took my camera gear for safe keeping, I followed the crowd into the small court room and found a seat.

He was 15 feet in front of me and sat slightly hunched over staring straight ahead as his court appointed psychologist testified.  He only took his eyes from the doctor when he looked slowly around the courtroom.  Our eyes met briefly as he smiled a weird little smile, then he turned his attention back to the doctor still on the stand testifying.

The photo that was broadcast around the world made him look creepy; but here in the small courtroom he looked creepier than the photos would lead one to believe.

Jared Lee Loughner pled guilty this morning to killing six people and wounding 12 others.  Wounded in the attack almost two years ago was Congresswoman Gabriele Giffords.   The shots that rang out that day outside of Safeway were heard around the world and the reverberations keep sounding.

Loughner who was initially found incompetent to stand trial has been forcibly administered medications to treat his schizophrenia and now the legal system declared him competent to understand the severity of the charges against him.

Under the plea, he will be sentenced to life in federal prison with possibility of parole.  The hearing was brief, formal and sterile.  Not at all like the parking lot of the Safeway where Loughner’s life – along with so many others – changed in a moment.

One thought on “I almost meet Jared Lee Loughner

  1. Hi there, thanks for sharing your account. I have just recently found out about the loughner case as it was not publicised much in europe. I find it strange that in every picture they have released of him he looks like a completely different person. Did he look like the person in the mug shot? I ask out of curiosity but would appreciate if you could get back to me. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

