Asheville police “profiles” homeless! Really??

“If the facts are against you, argue the law.  If the law is against you, argue the facts.  If both the law and the facts are against you, pound the table and yell.”

That’s a dictum that is taught to almost every first year law student.  If your client is in a no-win situation, pound the table and yell like a kid.

Seems like that’s something one of the homeless advocacy groups in Asheville is doing.

There was an item in today’s Citizen-Times reporting about a group that has filed a complaint against two bicycle cops for allegedly harassing and “profiling” homeless people.  Bullshit.

I know the two cops.  I know the homeless involved.  It never happened.  No, I wasn’t there at the date/place and time of the offense, but when something looks like a duck, smells like a duck and walks like a duck, it’s probably a duck.

Again, some of the leaders of homeless advocacy groups have proven that they have no idea what it takes to truly help the homeless.

So they pound the table and yell.

9 thoughts on “Asheville police “profiles” homeless! Really??

  1. Damn straight Jerry!!! My big sister is one of the police officers in reference in that piece of garbage newspaper article and let me just say that she is one of the most loving people I have ever met and probably ever will meet in my entire life! She has the most caring, loving, considerate and compassionate hearts I’ve ever been graced to know and I’m blessed to have her as a role model.
    Officer Raines always does what she knows to be right in her heart, even when no one is watching and that says it all about someone’s character. Whoever wrote that article probably is hating on cops and digging to find something to write about most likely bc that individual was arrested for breaking the law. Or that individual has run out of material lol What a joke!
    So thank you sir for speaking the truth. Keep it up bc the second people sit back and Let injustice take place is the second we become the problem and not the solution. And the world has enough problems without ignorant people going around on an ego trip trying to make themselves look good at the expense of someone elses reputation.
    Keep speaking the truth Jerry!
    -Rachel

  2. Thank you for your support of these police officers. The officer mentioned BY NAME in the article is my niece. She is the most honest, non-judgmental person I know. And I will swear on a Bible that she would be the last person to “profile” anyone, regardless of their situation. Perhaps the newspaper is profiling her?

  3. Thank you for your poignant words, Jerry. I said something quite similar yesterday… I feel like the Homeless Advocacy Group is the little kid peeing in the corner because his teacher made him stop making fun of the kids who do their homework. You were much more succinct as I like my metaphors 🙂

    One of the aforementioned officers is very close to me and I know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that she would never write a ticket, “profile” an individual or enforce a(n) law/ordinance that wasn’t prudent. She is one of the kindest souls I’ve ever known. She is genuine. She is caring.

    How on earth did the Citizen Times executive editor allow such defamatory remarks to be printed without the officers’ rebuttal? (are they still mad about the audit results not being released?) It is unethical & hurtful. I am filing a formal complaint about the copy editor who wrote it.

  4. Pingback: Asheville is hopping this weekend « JourneyAmerica

  5. Pingback: Homeless advocates continue to pound the table and yell « JourneyAmerica

  6. Pingback: Tell me about your “client-from-hell” « JourneyAmerica

  7. look im a 19 year old girl and im homeless. the police here harass me day in and day out. i didnt ask for this. i have 2 jobs i dont drink or do drugs and i dont panhandle. im close to getting housing and hopefully a car. the police arrested me for the first time for camping. legally they have to give u seven days to vacate and they came back in six. they almost cost me my jobs. u really dont know what its like unless u live it.

Leave a Reply

