A response to a question on LinkedIn

Emails.  I get emails.  I wish I had the time to personally answer them all, but if I did take the time to respond to everyone then I wouldn’t have time left for shooting.  And shooting, after all, is what puts a biscuit on the table.

I got this one this morning as I was sitting at Green Sage in Asheville.  It reads in it’s entirety:

Hi Jerry, Interesting web site, I see you been fighting the Good fight and Looks as you`ve been able to live a good life tho. While able to Capture the Moments in time, Good or Bad.

 

I wounder if Your the last of a dying breed, being able to live as you see fit, freedom of speech and a way of life, I am sure it wasnt easy. All the more, to the Question? If Your the last to live out, of what I call a generation that was and did live the American Dream?

 

Well this be a thing of the Pass ?

 

Thats the Story of Today..

 

I am doing what I can, to this question. I`ll be in touch soon I hope.

 

A story that demands, all to give some too. For if Not, then. Its a story to be forgotten.

 

My response?

Thanks for the feedback about my article dealing with my time in the Arizona desert.  It was not an easy gig and I appreciate your taking the time to not only read it, but also comment on it.

Living the American Dream?  I don’t know about that.  While I understand what you’re saying, I’m not sure there ever was an American Dream other than what has been cooked and served by politicians, corrupt corporations and the measly media.

The “American Dream” usually means having all the consumer goods you want, living in a nice house in the suburbs, being able to take a regular vacation and working until you retired in your “golden years”.  I’m not sure that ever really existed.  If it did, it died with my parent’s generation.

I do live my life though and I take life one day at a time.  I have found that too many people in this country (America) have one foot in yesterday, one foot in tomorrow and they’re pissing all over today.  I refuse to get caught dragging baggage from yesterday along with me or borrowing trouble from tomorrow.  The Creator never asked us to trust him for the entire journey, just the next step.

Another problems with too many Americans is they’re busy buying things they can’t afford to impress people they don’t like.  Contentment doesn’t come from things or possessions.  It comes from being free.

The freedom to travel and go where you want without being tied down to possessions.  The freedom to speak your mind and allow others the freedom to speak their’s also.  I have found that happiness and contentment are in direct inverse proportion to the quantity of things I own; the less that I have, the more contented I am.

A side benefit of possessing little is the ability to go on a moment’s notice.  I could have an editor call me at this moment for an assignment either across the country or across the globe and I would be ready to go in the time it takes to throw a change of clothes into the rucksack.  I don’t have a house or apartment to make arrangements for.  I don’t have big screen TVs that I will miss or any of the 1001 other things that seem to give so many Americans pleasure yet tie them down just as surely as a ball and chain.

Can anyone do what I do?  Yes, they can.

I frequently get emails from people around the globe that have followed my travels.  Their emails always say something like, “Your life is so fascinating!  How can I do what YOU do?”

My response to them is always the same.  “What are you willing to give up?”  I don’t mean to sound like a jerk with that question, but it’s a good starting point for conversation.

If someone is willing to give up the nightly game show on TV, then they’ll never be able to watch the ravens swoop in a remote slotted canyon, see the Northern Lights play over the snows of Denali or enjoy the peace of a South Pacific Island.

A side note: Once I ask, “What are you willing to give up?” I never hear from them again.  How sad.

I’ve rambled and I apologize.  If I were to sum up my way of life and what I’d like others to do, you would find it in my tagline on my website:

I SEE IT. I SHOOT IT. I LIVE IT. JOIN THE ADVENTURE

Thanks for writing and stay in touch.

2 thoughts on “A response to a question on LinkedIn

  1. At present, for the second time in my life, I am giving up nearly all my possessions to pursue my dreams. Having done this once before it’s pretty easy and stress relieving. I will keep in storage a few ‘heirloom’ things I’d like my kids and grandkids to have. Other wise, if it isn’t with me on my journey (clothes, a current good book or two , camera gear and a computer to process it all on) – then it is for sale to the highest bidder, literally, regardless what ‘high bid’ maybe.

    The ability to pursue a dream, no matter how daring or scary, fun or exciting, is only inhibited by the dreamer him- or herself.

    Jerry, I follow your blog and photographs, mostly silently, and though I strive to do near the same as you are doing – I am still in awe. Months ago, YOU asked me on my FB site ‘How can I get involved?” – not exact wording I think, but close.

    Sir, continue exactly as you are, continue to shoot memories and sights for all to enjoy, continue to be out spoken for all you believe in and thusly, you will be involved as an excellent example for me and my ‘journey’ or rather project.

  2. Blessings on you Sue! Thanks for being a reader and for the kind words. Maybe our trails will cross one day again soon and I want to hear all about your adventure! Again, blessings and thanks!

Leave a Reply

