You’re on your deathbed: What are YOUR regrets?

Clarence

“People are more important than pecans”, Clarence Jordan said.

I think the ol’ boy was right, but first a little background.

In the 1940s Clarence, along with his wife and another couple, founded the community called Koinonia in Southwest Georgia. They wanted to conduct an experiment to see if blacks and whites could live and work together as equals in the deeply prejudiced Deep South.

When the locals decided to boycott Koinonia’s farm products and try to starve out these “radicals”, Clarence and the group turned to raising – and selling – pecans. They needed a steady cash crop that could keep the experiment afloat and they figured that they might as well grow and market pecans and pecan related products. Where would they sell them? Out of the area and out of state to people who didn’t have the short sightedness to support what was a noble cause.

It’s too bad that Koinonia has forgotten this great sentence from their founder: “People are more important than pecans”.

It’s sadder still that so many people in the world today don’t realize the truth of those six words.

Over the years as I’ve traveled, I’ve run into a few individuals who’ve placed the value of people higher than the value of things and possessions. People that understood that relationships with other living, breathing human beings was worth more than all the fancy cars, toys, gadgets and other things that too many people seek for their happiness.

This got me to thinking. Almost everyone has read or seen a list of what people said in the moments before they died. Those last, final few words spoken by someone that knows they are going to step through the boundary.

But have you ever seen a list of things that people DID NOT say before they took their last breath? I haven’t either – I wonder if such a list exists anywhere.

Wondering if anyone had pulled together a list of people’s dying regrets, I Googled it and found a couple lists. While most of the lists were long, they all seemed to contain five similar thoughts. Here’s what I found:

1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.
2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.
3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
4. I wish I had spent more time with my family and friends.
5. I wish that I had let myself be happy.

How about you? If you were on your deathbed now, what would YOUR regret(s) be? Write your regret in the comment section and I’ll incorporate it into a post in a few days.

One thought on “You’re on your deathbed: What are YOUR regrets?

  1. Pingback: Office Matters 1: Someone’s Getting On Your Nerves? Here’s What You Do «

Leave a Reply

