Remember my friends at “Occupy Buenos Aires”?

lTwo months ago, I spent several days – and a few nights – with some protesters at San Martin Cultural Center. They were occupying a portion of the cultural center to protest the mayors cutback in funding of the arts.
It was kinda, semi, sorta like Occupy in America – only these people had their act together.

Last night, or early this morning, depending on who you read, the Cultural Center was raided by the cops. Four people were arrested and at least 16 people were injured – two of them by lead bullets.

 

San Martin Cultural Center, Buenos Aires shortly after activist artisans moved in to ocupy

According to an item in The Buenos Aires Herald, “Incidents broke out when police officers evicted a group of demonstrators who were rallying in the intersection of Sarmiento and Paraná streets to support protesters who have been occupying the Alberdi Hall of the building since 2010.[

Not surprisingly, the Buenos Aires Security Minister Guillermo Montenego first denied the cops had fired live rounds into the protestors. After video of the incident surfaced, this two-faced lying politician was forced to admit that there were injuries.

Montenegro promises that an investigation will be carried out in the near future.

If he’s anything like his American counterparts, I don’t expect we’ll see much actually done.

3 thoughts on “Remember my friends at “Occupy Buenos Aires”?

  1. Pingback: Buenos Aires is cold and lonely at 3 in the morning |

  2. Hi, I do believe this is a great blog. I stumbledupon it ;
    ) I am going to come back yet again since i have saved as
    a favorite it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to
    change, may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

  3. hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical points using this web site, since I experienced to reload the site lots of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and could
    damage your high quality score if advertising and marketing
    with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and can
    look out for a lot more of your respective interesting content.
    Ensure that you update this again soon.

Leave a Reply

