Before I ‘grow up’ you can kiss my ass

facebook_590453175

As you can imagine, I get tons of emails from people all over the world that read my ramblings and follow this adventure called life.

Most of those emails are supportive and encouraging.  Seems like alot of people who feel trapped in the 9 to 5 race to get ahead appreciate what I write, shoot and share.

“I feel like I live vicariously through your work,” wrote one person recently.

I like that.  I like that people that I’ve never met can feel that their life is just a little better because they opened up the computer and checked out what this ol’ grizzly vet is up to.

I get emails though from people who I believe are jealous and just don’t know how to express themselves.

“You need to grow up” wrote someone else recently.

I almost spit out my coffee from laughing too hard.

Grow up?  Exactly what does that mean.

Does growing up mean to assume a rigid structured life where tomorrow will be like today which was like yesterday?

Does grow up mean becoming tied down to meaningless possessions that will end up being owned by someone else anyway when I die?

Exactly what does “grow up” mean?

Well, until I can figure it out, I’m going to continue to roam the globe, taking life one day at a time and keep my eyes wide open for whatever comes around the next curve or over the next hill.

And if you don’t like that, well, you can kiss my cihldish ass.

Jerry Nelson is a freelance photojournalist.  Currently living and working in Argentina he focuses on social justice issues.  Known internationally for capturing events in a documentary style with an eye towards the aesthetic, his work has appeared in CNN, USAToday, Huffington Post and others.  A nomad at heart, he is always looking for that next gig which will take him over the next hill or around the next curve.  Follow him on Twitter, Facebook or visit his website, JourneyAmerica.org or email him today.

hth

Connect today with Jerry Nelson on LinkedIn fa

Leave a Reply

