Apples and Passports: Do I Have Your Attention?

Apple MacBook A1181

Apple MacBook A1181

What a week it’s been.

As you know, I was robbed on February 9th. All of my gear — along with my passport — was stolen. It’s been a few bumpy spots in the road since then.

Thanks though to EVERYONE that stepped up to the plate to help out this grizzly, grumpy, opinionated ol’ vet. I won’t start naming names of specific people that helped, because I will forget someone, I know. But, because of each of you, I’ve been able to replace my camera, passport and laptop…but I’m getting ahead of myself.

First the passport.

“Raise your right hand and repeat after me,” said the little guy behind the 2 inch thick glass. He looked suspiciously like Wally Cox. A tiny, nervous little fellow that is the Hollywood typecast for a bureaucrat.

So I raised my right hand and repeated the words after him.

“I hereby declare that I will support and defend the Constitution and laws of the United States of America against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; and that I take this obligation freely without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; so help me God.”

With that done, he slid the paperwork through the little slot in the window, wanting my signature. Before I signed though, I couldn’t help but ask one question: “Exactly what DOES ‘domestic enemies’ mean?”

In his monotone, bureaucratic bird-like voice he said, “Anyone that is an American citizen that doesn’t support the Constitution.”

I looked at him, shrugged and said, “Oh, you mean like Congress?

He looked at me with those beady little eyes, pointed and said, “Just sign the paper.” Figuring I’d better not push it, I signed, picked up the Passport and got out of the embassy.

Ultra-small 60W 16.5V 3.65A Laptop AC Adapter/Power Supply Charger/Power Cord for Apple A1181 A1184 A1278 A1330 MacBooke Pro 13 13.3-inch, Fits Apple MA538LL/A MA538LL/B 661-4269 661-4485 661-3957 (White)

Now, about that laptop. Several good friends have dropped enough money into the tip jar so that I’m able to get a laptop. After finding one with the right price in Texas, I had to find someway to get it here. Shipping electronics into Argentina is a 50/50 chance of ever seeing it again. Even if the laptop DID make it through customs, I’d have to pay an arm and a leg in taxes and tariffs to be able to pick it up.

So it was time to find another smuggler.

Checking several places that enterprising expats know about online, I was able to find someone in New England that agreed to bring the laptop to me.

So Friday, the laptop was shipped to New England and it was received by my “mule” today at 3:30. He’s flying out of Boston tomorrow and by this time Friday, I should have my laptop in hand.

Just one problem. The power cord with the laptop doesn’t work. My “mule” in New England checked it all out and determined it was the cord. The source of the laptop is willing to make one available if it still doesn’t work when it gets here. But, just in case….

…does anyone have a powercord for an Apple 1181 MacBook? One you’d be willing to part with cheap? If you have one — or can get one — send me an email and we can figure out the rest from there.

In the meantime, a huge, Huge, HUGE thank you to everyone that has worked to get me back up and running.

I still need a few things photographically, but I’m in alot better shape now than I was that night in February when that bonehead decided he wanted to steal my gear.

One thought on “Apples and Passports: Do I Have Your Attention?

Leave a Reply

