A new Facebook Scam: Send me $750.00 and I’ll Send You $50,000.00!!!

This morning I’m sitting at the kitchen table, drinking coffee and doing the Facebook thing, just getting caught up on what’s been happening in the friends’ lives since yesterday.

A “chat” window pops up from “Anne Nesse”.  Anne is a friend of mine from Idaho.  I stayed with her and her husband several days last year when I was there doing a shoot for United Vision for Idaho.  Anne is a political candidate and community activist, so it wasn’t really a surprise when she sent a brief message.

Telling me about a grant that she had just gotten got my attention, so in between putting the finishing touches on articles before deadline, commenting on Paul Perrin’s post and drinking more coffee I half-way paid attention to the conversation.

“Anne” directed me to the Facebook page of an attorney which she claimed had helped her get the money.  It didn’t pass the “smell test”, but I figured I’d play along to see which way it went.  

“Anne’s” message comments are in bold face and my response immediately follows each line in plain type.  Please keep in mind that there is NO WAY that the real Anne Nesse is a part of this scam…I don’t want to confuse anyone on that point.

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE COMMENTS IN BOTH CONVERSATIONS ARE TOTAL, SPELLING ERRORS AND ALL

Conversation with “Anne Nesse”

Anne: Hello ,How are you doing today ?
My response: Hey there! doing well…how about yourself? Still on the campaign trail?
Yea,All is well ,Busy on line searching on what to invest my Grant money on .
Grant money? that is so awesome. What options are you looking at?
Still on ideas of generations , have you heard about the federal government grant?
Have heard about this Grant before ?
Fill me in on the Federal govt grant…tell me more
This is specifically place for those who need assistance paying for bills, buying a home, starting their own business, going to school, or even helping raise their children with old and retired people.
Cool! Write a grant for me to expand a business and I’ll give you 25%
deal?
this is a new program, i got 50,000 delivered to me when i apply for the grant and you don’t have to pay it back as long as you have a good credit record. you can also apply too..
i’m in south america, remember?
Have you heard about lawyer Elizabeth Harry Thomas ?
No
She is the one who help me to get the grant,she is a good woman.
can you hook me up with her maybe?
Click on this link send her request and message ,so she can help you get the grant also … www.facebook.com/harry.thomas.7330763
This is a screen capture of the Facebook page that I was sent to for information about the "grant".

This is a screen capture of the Facebook page that I was sent to for information about the “grant”.

ok
thanks
You are welcome , just click on the link ,add her as friend and message her also that you want to apply for grant .
I doubt if I could qualify though
you said ‘good credit’
8 years of life on the road working isn’t conducive to good credit and besides, it’s a ‘government’ grant
not real sure i want to have anything to do with govt money
Oh , this is real , i got the mnoey ,, she can still help you out ,, all you just need to do is to be honest with her so she can help you get it .
Did you got to her Official Facebook page ?
no, haven’t yet…finishing up a couple articles before deadline
The same Facebook page, except this screen shot shows the two message windows open at the bottom.

The same Facebook page, except this screen shot shows the two message windows open at the bottom.

Okay , just try to contact the lawyer as soon as possible ,so she can help you out got this Grant .
OK, just sent her a message. Would you also contact her and tell her who I am so she’ll know i’m legit?
Just let her know that you are informed by me and you want to apply for grant also .
ok
Did she respond to you ?
Yes, chatting with her now…wow this is exciting. Too bad she wants money upfront. I just don’t have that type of funds
Have you given any of the money to our mutual friend in Boise? What was her name again? Aviana I think?
 
Yes , i did pay the fee of 750 before i got my grant from them .
No, answer my question, did you give any of the money to our friend in Boise? I can’t remember her name, she’s the leader of that large group there…what was her name again?
Actually, I remembered the name — it’s Adrienne Evans — but I wanted to verify my suspicions that this “Anne Nesse” wasn’t the real deal.
Dont remember what you are saying .
oh, you know, the lady in boise that introduced you and i
what was her name again? avian? adriana?
well?
hello???
Again, I knew the true name of the lady in Boise — it’s Adrienne — but this con artist posing as “Anne” didn’t know the name of course so “she” disappeared.

Just out of curiosity and with nothing better to do, I clicked on the link that “Anne Nesse” had sent me and this conversation started.  Again, “Elizabeth Harry Thompson’s” comments are in bold face and my response are in plain type.

Anne Nesse suggested I contact you about possibly getting information about getting a government grant.
Elizabeth Harry Thomas: Yes , she is one of our beneficiaries .
Me: She’s a friend of mine. I met her last year when I was in Idaho doing a shoot for UVI
Okay ,Do you want to apply for Federal Government Grant ?
Well, I’d like to first learn more about it…Anne highly recommended you and your service and there are several hurdles that might keep me from being eligible for a grant, so maybe we should address those possible hurdles first?
Something already started smelling fishy
I can help you to get the grant as soon as you are honest with me.,Hope you have a good credit record?
Nope. 8 years on the road as a freelance photographer + an ex wife have ruined my credit, i believe.
haven’t paid for anything with credit in 8 years…always use cash
Okay , will help you out to get it .
You have to fill up some information’s so we can proceed : Full name…….. Full Home Address…… Male/Female Your Age….. Married/Single….. Pager Number/Text Phone……. E-mail…….. Hearing or Deaf……. Monthly income…. Do yoy have a car…. What do you do for living……… Do you Own a house or Rent Appt…….. Do you want cash or cheque? 6. You have to hold on Because your information will be save on our database now so that we did not deliver the grant to the wrong person
2nd hurdle…i’m based in south america
been here since december
and anticiapting moving back to the states in about six months
Okay , your grant will be deliver to you there , you have to provide the necessary informations required so we can proceed on .
ok, don’t own a house or car either…not sure if that impacts anything, but if you’ll email me the form, i can complete it and return to you right away… jandrewnelson@yahoo.com
Here is the informations you need to provide here :
Full name…….. Full Home Address…… Male/Female Your Age….. Married/Single….. Pager Number/Text Phone……. E-mail…….. Hearing or Deaf……. Monthly income…. Do yoy have a car…. What do you do for living……… Do you Own a house or Rent Appt…….. Do you want cash or cheque?
Is there an email address to return the information to?
fedgovpovhummanity@aol.com .
Yah, right.  A “high-powered” lawyer that uses a generic AOL email address?
just sent an email with the information
By the way, for an apartment address in the email I sent, I gave “2nd Floor, Casa Rosada” as my residence.  Casa Rosada is The Pink House — Argentina’s version of The White House.
We got your informations ,We have verify your information’s and it shows that you are qualify to receive the grant.
OK…GREAT!
You are to choose the amount you wish to claim from us .. And you will pay for the Clearance fees… We will make every effort to ship your order as soon as possible.You are to choose below amount you want to claim. You Pay $750 and get $50,000,00. You pay $1,500 and get $90,000,00. You pay $2,500 and get $150,000,00. You pay $3,000 and get $200,000.00 You pay $3,800 and get $300,000.00 You pay $4,800 and get $450,000.00 You pay $5,850 and get $550,000.00 You pay $7,500 and get $750,000.00 Final you pay $10,000 get $1,000,000.00
Sounds great! Send me the check, I’ll pay you out of what I’m sent.
You need to pay upfromt fee ,before we can deliver your grant money to you .
Yah, I figured as much
Are you ready to pay the fee now so we can proceed on the necessary papers and deliver your grant money to you as soon as possible .
Lady, I’m not paying a damn thing upfront. Do I look stupid?
No, don’t answer that. But seriously, what kind of idiot do you take me for?
What do you mean ,, whats meaning of this embarrassment are you placing on me .
Thats how it works , once you pay the fee your Grant money will be deliver to you
so how do i send you the money?
and where do i send it to?
well?
Here is the Available Name and Address you are sending the fee too via western union in this morning . Nam: Jamie Caloway City;Tallahassee State : FL City :32310
OK…andthe account#? I WU requires an account # to send it to
This is the name and address of the reciever you are to send it too via WU .
You we be the send that name and address will be receiver ,will the expecting the control number you got at the western union for the sending the fee .
There is no address, just a city and state
Thats the infomation you are sending it too .
No, WU needs an address. By the way, who is Jamie Caloway. Your Facebook page and this chat window says your name is Elizabeth Harry Thomas
That the cashier of this program that will arrange all the necessary papers of your prize .
I did a quick image search of the image on “Elizabeth’s” profile and came up with this on Google Image Search
Screen capture of the Google search results on "Elizabeth's" profile image

Screen capture of the Google search results on “Elizabeth’s” profile image

OK, and who is Claire Loftus?
Clicking on the image I found in the Google Image search, took me to this webpage, showing the REAL person in the photograph
Screen capture of the webpage showing the genuine source of the image used by "Elizabeth" as her profile photo.

Screen capture of the webpage showing the genuine source of the image used by “Elizabeth” as her profile photo.

Where did you got the name ?
Why does it matter where I got the name? Tell me who Claire Loftus is first and I’ll be happy to tell you where I got the name
I dont know this name .
She is the members of the program .
Then why did you tell me that you don’t know the name?
I just want you to know how you brave and surprise on how you got the name , shes among the people who support this program .
OK, listen up you furball piece of shit. You’re a con and a thief and your mother will cry to everything she considers holy if I ever catch you trying to rip me or my friends off again.
And then I got myself another cup of coffee

2 thoughts on “A new Facebook Scam: Send me $750.00 and I’ll Send You $50,000.00!!!

  1. Hey, my mom told me about this excitedly this afternoon. I’m so glad you wrote this up because otherwise it’s likely we would be out of quite a bit of money into this scam. The chat between your friend and the alleged lawyer was eerily similar.

Leave a Reply

