How NOT to be an Electrician

Running power lines the Argentine way

Running power lines the Argentine way

I’m walking down the street today and I spot three guys working on the power lines. Being the curious type guy that I am, I stop to watch. And then I start to notice things.

Here’s the scene as I first came across it around the corner from the apartment.  Two guys up on ladders running power lines along the street.

On the sidewalk is their ‘helper’ and, I guess, safety man.

It didn’t take but a few minutes for me to figure out that Argentina’s way of doing things flat wouldn’t fly in America..but then I’m not in America.

As I looked closer, I saw a couple of interesting things.

First, I noticed that the guy on the ladder closest to me had a safety strap on.  Then I noticed that the safety strap was attached to the ladder he was standing on.  Yep,, you read that right.  But the ladder wasn’t attached to anything secure … other than the guy standing on the ladder.

So, if the ladder fell, it was going to take the man with it and if the man fell, well, he’d pull the ladder right down on top of him.

The man is attached to the ladder with a safety strap, but the ladder isn't attached to anything secure.

The man is attached to the ladder with a safety strap, but the ladder isn’t attached to anything secure.

The other thing I noticed, see the guy on the sidewalk that looks like he’s holding a rope?  The other end of the rope is attached to…wait for it…the ladder.  I didn’t figure out what purpose a rope attached to a ladder was supposed to serve.

Since I didn’t have alot of time to ponder the situation, I grabbed a few shots and went on my way.

The man on the ground is holding one end of the rope and the other end is attached to the ladder.

The man on the ground is holding one end of the rope and the other end is attached to the ladder.

Have a story tip or idea?  I’m always on the lookout for unique people, places and things.  Everyone has a story to tell.  Not everyone can tell their story.  When you have a unique story and you’re ready to share it with the world, please keep me in mind.  You can see some of the media outlets my work has been featured in by clicking here.  Ready to have your story told?  Contact today!

Jerry Nelson is an American freelance photojournalist.  When not traveling, he can be found on the streets of Buenos Aires as Lead Photographer for BuenosTours, the largest private tour company in South America.  Connect with Jerry on MosaicHub, Facebook or LinkedIn today.  Have a story that needs to reach national media?  Email him today.

Find Jerry on Google+


Ready to do business?  See samples of my work in my portfolio, proudly sponsored by Marc & Dean at PressFolios.com  If you’re a journalist, photographer or blogger, be sure to check out their services!


 

3 thoughts on “How NOT to be an Electrician

  1. Gotta love it! People say there is no more magic.. Well,they just aren’t paying attention.. the little things you catch out of he corner of you eye..No it didn’t die in the middle ages.. you just have to look for it..Same holds true for what you just saw here… Most folks would never notice what you spotted..I see these things every day.I put them in my shoe box of “Things that make you go mmmm”…is it stupidity? Is it the inability for basic deductive reasoning and observation ? or never studied Logic 101 in Jr college ? I find these things absolutely hilarious .Almost as amusing as watching a Mime get run over by a City Transit Bus( true story) Who was it that said given the occasion …humans will rise to their optimum level of incompetence on any given opportunity or situation

  2. Gotta love it! People say there is no more magic.. Well,they just aren’t paying attention.. the little things you catch out of he corner of you eye..No it didn’t die in the middle ages.. you just have to look for it..Same holds true for what you just saw here… Most folks would never notice what you spotted..I see these things every day.I put them in my shoe box of “Things that make you go mmmm”…is it stupidity? Is it the inability for basic deductive reasoning and observation ? or never studied Logic 101 in Jr college ? I find these things absolutely hilarious .Almost as amusing as watching a Mime get run over by a City Transit Bus( true story) Who was it that said given the occasion …humans will rise to their optimum level of incompetence on any given opportunity or situation

Leave a Reply

