Argentina is About to Blow

Risk of Social UnrestAlmost since I got to Argentina on December 1, 2012, I’ve been telling anyone that would listen that Argentina is sitting on a powder keg of dynamite and the match has been struck. The only thing waiting is for the match and fuse to make contact.

Everyone. Well, almost everyone, thought I was crazy. Many people implied that I didn’t know what I was talking about. Others didn’t just imply it, they told me to my face that I didn’t know what I was talking about.

The Economist places Argentina in the very high risk category for 2014

This morning I feel a little vindicated. Argentina is predicted to be at Very high risk in 2014. High risk for what? To be the next Egypt.

Speaking of the next Egypt, take a look at a piece I wrote for Huffington Post shortly after I got here.

It doesn’t give me any great pleasure to be right, though.

One thought on “Argentina is About to Blow

  1. Pingback: Argentina Heat Wave Stirs Pot of Political Unrest in Buenos Aires

Leave a Reply

