Iwo Jima flag-raiser posthumously gets citizenship document

Iwo Jima Memorial Arlington VA

Iwo Jima Memorial Arlington VA

Remember the other day I told you about riding my bike each day by the Iwo Jima Memorial?  Well, here’s a picture of it.  The bike path is just outside the frame of the picture.  It’s an awe-inspiring site to come zipping through the park, make the circle around the memorial and then continue down the hill through Arlington National Cemetary.

But that’s not why I posted the picture today.

There was an item on CNN.com that caught my eye.  Seems there has been a question about the citizenship of one of the guys depicted on the memorial. 

 Michael Strank’s dad, Vasil, came from Czechoslovakia to dig coal in the mines in Pennsylvania.  Since Michael was born here in the U.S., he was made an American citizen.  But the government screwed up and never issued him papers…until recently.

And that was the item on CNN.com that caught my eye.  Here’s the link to the story.  Apparently the government finally got around to giving him the paperwork.  But since he’s been dead since 1945 (he was KIA on Iwo following the flag raising), his sister was given his documents on his behalf.   

http://www.cnn.com/2008/US/07/29/iwo.jima.citizenship/index.html 

Seems like, technically, Michael Strank was an undocumented alien.

3 thoughts on “Iwo Jima flag-raiser posthumously gets citizenship document

  1. I have had the pleasure of visiting our nationsl capitol twice. One of my favorite memorials is the Iwo Jima Memorial. I have read about these men and I understand why they feel they are not the heros. But, I disagree they are all heros to me; every one that landed on that beach. The sacrifices our servicemen go through are very much appreciated. I can only imagine what these young boys really went though.

  2. I had the honor of seeing the Iwo Jima memorial in 1964 when my senior class from Ferriday, LA went there as part of our senior trip. You know, at the time, I didn’t really think much about it, but the older one gets, the more one realizes what all of the men and women who have fought in battles have done for this country. I may not always agree they should be in places fighting, but I suupport them with my prayers. Thank you for sharing this wonderful story. Too bad we didn have a James Bradley to share with us that special information.
    Gwen Curry , Lubbock, TX

  3. I visited there once. In 6th grade with my class. We got our picture taken there. I didnt understand the importance then. I do now. For most people the story above would be that. A story. But my best friend is IN the Marine corps. Its insane. I dont even know how to explain how real it got for me after that.

Leave a comment