I’m Gonna Shoot the Snowman — Or 3 Hints for Shooting in the Snow

With the snow yesterday, I saw alot of people out taking photographs.  I’m not sure why…it’s snowed before.  But I admit there is something about the first snowfall of the year that sets people’s hearts to fluttering.

I figured I’d pass on a few tips to the brave souls who want to get out and enjoy some photography.  Here they are:

#1  If your camera has adjustable settings, use a faster shutter speed than you normally would.  The snow tends to reflect light and can overexpose your shot if you use a “normal” shutter speed.

#2 Shoot the snowman/dog/kids/house from a different angle.   Kneel, lay down or take a ladder out with you, but shoot from a perspective different than you  normally see the object from.  For example, if you’re shooting kids, get down on THEIR eye level.  A different perspective can make the difference between a great shot and another “oh here’s my house in the snow” snapshot.

#3 Find a sealable baggy that will hold your camera and stick it in your pocket when you head outside.  Before you go back in to the warmth of your home, put the camera in the baggy and seal it.  Then once your camera is back inside the warmth of your home, fight the temptation to hurry and download the photos.  The same warmth that you’re looking for can create condensation inside the camera.  HINT: Water and digital cameras normally don’t get along well.

Happy shooting!  Now where did I put my coffee.

Leave a comment